200th blog post! Those stars you see in the sky…

“Perhaps they are not stars in the sky but rather openings where our loved ones shine down to let us know they are happy.”

I am continuing to post photos of Jeanie every day until the day of her memorial service on July 16, 2011.  Her sons, John and Vince, have made all the arrangements for a beautiful unforgettable memorial, one that Jeanie so well deserves.

John took this photo of his mom last year at The Willows Nursing Home in Valparaiso, IN

What I have not yet mentioned in my blog is that on the same day that Jeanie died (12:20 a.m. local time in Rensselaer, Indiana), my mother-in-law, Pat Trowbridge, also died (2 pm).  She raised 6 children and was an attorney in Tacoma, WA.  In 2001, she was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s.  Here is one of my favorite photos of Pat.  In my mind, I will always see her as the vibrant woman you see below.

Back row: John Brown (my bro-in-law) and Bob (father-in-law). Front row: Nora, me, Pat (mother-in-law) in Ocean Shores, WA

And now off to write a breve vita in Italian about Jeanie.  My Uncle Charlie is having a mass said for Jeanie on Monday in Grotte, Sicily.  The breve vita will be read at the mass.  Just found out that my Uncle Vittorio is also having a mass said for Jeanie on Monday in England!  And my cousin, Padre Vincenzo, will give a funeral mass for Jeanie on Saturday, July 16, in Grotte.  That mass will be said simultaneously with the funeral mass in Rensselaer, Indiana.  I guess I need to write the breve vita really well, in both English and Italian.  It is going to be heard by many!

I am blessed.  I have an amazing family.  Jeanie deserved all this and more.


Leave a Reply

