Alive in Modica

Once again…a few of my photos to share from this incredible trip.  I have slowed down in my photo taking.  I can’t compete with Rick, Gail, Monica, and Karen, who all take great photos!  They have a good eye and their cameras are so much nicer than mine is.  Compared to their cameras, my Leica seems to be a child’s toy.  Hopefully, I will get some of their photos from the yoga sessions and some of the group photos we have been taking to share with my readers.

Below: the town of Modica!  We had a cooking lesson with Chef Ninni Radicini at the cooking school, ate a wonderful lunch, and then went walking in the town of Modica with our fabuloso guide and friend, Giorgio Modica of Modica!

L1390395

On the way to Modica, I finally got the shot I wanted: fields of wildflowers at their peak of beauty.  Red poppies standout against yellow flowers

On the way to Modica, I finally got the shot I wanted: fields of wildflowers at their peak of beauty. Red poppies standout against yellow flowers

The tomato sauce used in the Pasta alla Norma

The tomato sauce used in the Pasta alla Norma

The base for the caponata..later the eggplant, vinegar, and sugar are added to make a very delicious side dish.

The base for the caponata..later the eggplant, vinegar, and sugar are added to make a very delicious side dish.

Cannoli shells

Cannoli shells

Filled with ricotta and ready to eat!

Filled with ricotta and ready to eat!

Espresso: You cannot get a bad cup of coffee in Sicily!

Perfect Cup of Espresso: You cannot get a bad cup of coffee in Sicily!

Perfect Setting for Yoga Practice

Perfect Setting for Yoga Practice

And Yes, we really do yoga, twice daily!

L1390416

L1390425

Fran back bends over Lisa

Fran back bends over Lisa

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Alive in Modica”

  1. Diana Lindner Says:

    Traveling vicariously in Sicily and with great delight.Thanks for this combination of photo art, sensory experiences and the inimitable human touch.

    Like

  2. Beth DiPasquale Says:

    Fran,

    I do not know much about cameras….except the Names of the more expensive ones! That being said, I believe that all of the photos you send are wonderful….they all have so much color, wonderful concept, and make me want to BE there! Thank you, so very much, for keeping me on your list of those you send these fabulous messages. The pictures are fantastic, and they do inspire me.

    I am, at present, in recovery from the major back surgery earlier this year. I hope to be doing more soon. I have enrolled at the nearby 24 hour fitness and go in on Tues and Thurs…for an hour each time. I do believe that it is helping me. I am keeping at it and hope to be doing more, soon.

    We are going to be gone quite a bit later this summer. We are going on a river boat trip in France on July 25th. This trip is quite casual with no formal nites etc. The ship is a smaller vessel. We return to Seattle on August 18th. We regroup, I have a perm etc. We leave Seattle again, on the 30th of August and fly to Montreal. There, we board the Holland America ship the Maasdam, and begin a series of major cruises on the same ship. We visit the NE in the home of Anne of Green Gables and continue down the Eastern seacoast, through the Panama Canal, across the Atlantic with numerous stops at small Islands, one in Honolulu, on across to Sydney, Australia. The cruise circumnavigates Australia. We return to Sydney and fly out of Sydney to Seattle on November 22nd!!! Both of us have birthdays in November, which we will “celebrate” onboard.

    On this second trip, the ship has a very complete gym. Both Doug and I will be using it. He keeps inspiring and encouraging me to continue to make use of the facilities offered.

    I have been shopping for some dressy clothes to wear. A friend suggested that I go to Amazon to search for inexpensive evening gowns. I thought she was crazy!!! But, I did try it and have been shocked to find such nice dresses at such reasonable prices!!! I have added 3 new evening gowns to my wardrobe…to my 1 tired and lonely dress! As this trip is a series of cruises, many folk will disembark and board at the major ports. So, there will not be many that see me in the same dresses! I do not care if they do.

    On the first ship, we will be very casual. I will not have to do much hand washing as the cruise is relatively short. The 2nd cruise is more formal. Doug and I both have so many hours we have spent on Holland America cruises that we have complimentary cleaning and laundry service!!! That is such a fantastic benefit.

    I could not believe it when Doug told me he had booked us on this first cruise. It is so close to the 2nd departure. However, we have Doug’s daughter with us (her chocolate lab as well) for now. She got out of a very bad situation and left Montana to come to a position with UW medicine. She has very convenient bus service from here. We wanted someone to stay here while we are gone. Her wanting to make a change came at the best time. She will start looking for a place for them to move to late this summer. It is a little crowded here, in my small home. But, she is safe and has such a good paying position which she loves. She is also able to save her income and build up a sizeable nest egg. She is intelligent and helpful. We are crowded, but, pleased with the help we are able to offer her,

    I have rambled on, far too long. Just had to tell you how much both of us are delighted to receive your wonderful, newsy emails. They are so very interesting and fun! Your photos are absolutely fantastic. You are such a very talented young lady. Do you continue to teach at the Greenlake location? If so, I hope to be able to begin there, again, in the future.

    Thank you,

    Beth

    ________________________________

    Like

  3. Debra Simeone Says:

    My sister and I are really enjoying following your travels in Sicily. Your photos are great! We are taking notes of some of the places you mention to include in our trip this September. We hope all is well and look forward to your next post. Enjoy!

    Like

    • frangallo Says:

      Thank you, Debra! So glad you are enjoying the travels in Sicily. I am working on a slideshow and will post that soon, within a few days. You will enjoy your trip to Sicily in September…in fact, you won’t want to ever leave. The water is very pleasant in September and the swimming great!

      Like

Leave a Reply

